Antoni Graf Sobański

Antoni Graf Sobański
Antoni Graf Sobański

Info

In 1933 the Polish citizen Count Antoni Sobański described the “Heil Hitler!“ salute in the following terms: “It is indescribably comical to see two podgy old men with briefcases tucked under their arms with utterly and totally indifferent expressions on their faces coming across one another in the street and throwing their right hand, complete with bent arthritic fingers, upwards into the air.”

Location in the atlas of remembrance places

Antoni Graf Sobański was born on 1st May 1898 in Obodówka, a part of Poland which had been annexed by the Russians. He came from a Polish rural aristocratic family and was the youngest of three children. In 1905 the family moved to Warsaw. Between 1917 and 1925 he studied different subjects at a number of universities without, however, gaining a degree. At the same time Sobanski inherited a castle in Guzów and a sugar factory from his uncle, which meant that he divided his time between his duties on his estate and social life in Warsaw. In Warsaw Antoni Graf Sobański was not just anybody. He was one of the most glamorous personalities in high society and at the same time a highly esteemed journalist, popular essayist and very promising writer. His friends called him “Tonio”. These were by no means unknown persons, but diplomats, academics and Bohemians. Jarosław Iwaszkiewicz and Witold Gombrowicz talked about him in the highest tones of admiration; he was eloquent, humorous, ironic, witty and cultivated. Count Sobański was an enlightened European who was well aware of, and averse to nationalist and anti-Semitic tendencies, also in Polish society. He spoke and wrote in six European languages, travelled a great deal, and lived in London, Paris, Berlin, Vienna and Petersburg.

Adolf Hitler was declared Reichs Chancellor in January 1933. On 5th March 1933 elections to the Reichstag took place at which the Nazi party narrowly failed to achieve the absolute majority. Given these political portents the editors of the Polish journal “Wiadomości Literackie” (Literary News), decided to send a correspondent to Berlin to send them first-hand news about the Third Reich. Their choice fell on Sobański. He seemed to be ideally suited for this mission because he had friends in Berlin and felt almost at home there. As early as April 1933 Count Sobański travelled to Berlin and began to write down his observations which are even today some of the most important documents on the state of German society at the start of the Nazi regime because they are more than simply additions to our overall picture. Sobański was a shrewd and objective observer. He approached his work in a very conscientious manner. He was curious about everything he saw and heard, and the more something appeared to be inexplicable the more he wanted to understand it. He spoke with countless people, read newspapers and even counted the number of pictures with Nazi motifs; he raced tirelessly around the city and even analysed theatre repertoires and cinema programmes. He then worked all his impressions into his reports which were printed in the “Wiadomości Literackie” and read with great interest and enjoyment. All in all eight of his reports were printed in 1933. Following subsequent trips to Danzig and Nuremberg five further travel reports appeared in 1936. In their sober style they are still sharp analyses of German society under a developing totalitarian system.

In 2005 the literary world rediscovered Count Sobański’s reports when they appeared in book form under the title “Cywil w Berlinie” (Plain Clothes in Berlin). The title is apposite because Sobański regarded Berlin as “a city of uniformed people“ where even the jobless wore a uniform. The title of the German edition is not so imaginative: “News from Berlin 1933-36”. Nevertheless the book is a godsend for German readers. The German edition appeared in 2007.  

Count Antoni Graf Sobański thought that there was no great likelihood of war because he believed people were humane. But when the Second World War broke out with the invasion of Poland on 1st September 1939 Sobański fled to London via southern Europe. He was never to experience the end of the war because he died of a pulmonary disease in 1941.

Adam Gusowski

Media Library on topic

Images
Audio

Share

Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Kurfürstendamm, the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church in 1936. The church was partially destroyed in World War II. Not rebuilt it is today a memorial of the terrible times of war.
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church
Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Kurfürstendamm, the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church in 1936. The church was partially destroyed in World War II. Not rebuilt it is today a memorial of the terrible times of war.
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church in 2014
2014
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church in 2014
Book-burnings staged by the Nazis on 10 May 1933 on the Opera Square (today: Bebelplatz) in Berlin. Antoni Count Sobański is also a witness to this event. His descriptions unmask the propaganda machine of the Nazis.
Book-burnings staged by the Nazis
Book-burnings staged by the Nazis on 10 May 1933 on the Opera Square (today: Bebelplatz) in Berlin. Antoni Count Sobański is also a witness to this event.
Antoni Graf Sobański - Radio play by "COSMO Radio po polsku" in English
In cooperation with "COSMO Radio po polsku" we present radio plays on selected topics of our portal.

Antoni Graf Sobański

Antoni Graf Sobański
Antoni Graf Sobański

Info

„Unbeschreiblich drollig ist der Anblick, wenn zwei ältere, beleibte Herren mit Aktentasche unterm Arm, die sich auf der Straße begegnen, plötzlich, mit ganz und gar gleichgültigem Gesichtsausdruck, die rechte Hand mit den arthroseverkrümmten Fingern nach vorn werfen”. So beschreibt ein Pole 1933 den Hitler-Gruß in Berlin -  Antoni Graf Sobański.

Lage im Atlas der Erinnerungsorte

Antoni Graf Sobański wurde am 1. Mai 1898 in Obodówka im russisch annektierten Teil Polens geboren. Er stammte aus einer polnischen Landadelsfamilie und war das jüngste von drei Kindern. 1905 zog die Familie nach Warschau um. Zwischen 1917 und 1925 studierte er an unterschiedlichen Universitäten verschiedene Fachrichtungen, ohne jedoch einen Abschluss zu erlangen. Zur gleichen Zeit erbte Sobanski von seinem Onkels ein Schloss in Guzów und eine Zuckerfabrik, so dass er seine Zeit zwischen den Verpflichtungen auf seinem Gut und dem gesellschaftlichen Leben in Warschau aufteilte. In Warschau war Antoni Graf Sobański nicht irgendjemand. Er war eine der schillerndsten Persönlichkeiten der guten Gesellschaft und gleichzeitig ein sehr geschätzter Journalist, gern gelesener Essayist und viel versprechender Literat. Seine Freunde nannten ihn “Tonio”. Die ihn so nannten, waren keine Unbekannten, sondern Diplomaten, Wissenschaftler und Bohemiens. Jarosław Iwaszkiewicz und Witold Gombrowicz sprachen über ihn in höchsten Tönen der Bewunderung, er wäre eloquent, humorvoll, ironisch, witzig und kultiviert. Graf Sobański war ein aufgeklärter Europäer, dem die nationalistischen und antisemitischen Tendenzen auch in der polnischen Gesellschaft bewusst und zuwider waren. Er beherrschte sechs europäische Sprachen in Wort und Schrift, reiste viel, lebte in London, Paris, Berlin, Wien und Petersburg.

Im Januar 1933 wurde Adolf Hitler zum Reichskanzler ernannt. Am 5. März 1933 fanden die Reichstagswahlen statt, bei denen die NSDAP nur knapp an der absoluten Mehrheit scheiterte. Unter diesen politischen Vorzeichen entschied die Redaktion der polnischen Zeitschrift “Wiadomości Literackie” (Literarische Nachrichten), einen Korrespondenten nach Berlin zu schicken, um Informationen aus erster Hand über das »Dritte Reich« zu liefern.  Die Wahl fiel auf Sobański, der für diese Mission geeignet erschien, da er Freunde in Berlin hatte und dort fast zuhause war. Bereits im April 1933 fuhr Graf Sobański nach Berlin und begann, seine Beobachtungen aufzuschreiben, die bis heute ein wichtigstes Dokument über den Zustand der deutschen Gesellschaft in den Anfängen des Nazi-Regimes darstellen und das Gesamtbild mehr als nur ergänzen. Sobański war ein scharfsinniger Beobachter mit objektivem Anspruch. Er ging sehr gewissenhaft mit seiner Arbeit um. Er war neugierig auf alles, was er sehen oder hören konnte, und je unerklärbarer ihm etwas erschien, umso mehr wollte er es verstehen. Er sprach mit unzähligen Menschen, las Zeitungen, zählte darin sogar die Bilder mit nationalistischen Motiven, er lief unermüdlich durch die Stadt und analysierte selbst das Theater- und Kinoprogramm. All seine Eindrücke verarbeitete er in seinen Reportagen, die in  der “Wiadomości Literackie” abgedruckt wurden und sich großen Interesses bei den Lesern erfreuten. 1933 erschienen insgesamt acht Reportagen. Nach seinen späteren Reisen nach Danzig und Nürnberg erschienen 1936 weitere fünf Reiseberichte. In ihrer nüchternen Art sind sie heute noch eine scharfe Analyse der deutschen Gesellschaft im Hinblick auf die Entwicklung totalitärer Systeme.

2005 entdeckte die literarische Welt die Reportagen von Graf Sobański neu. Sie erschienen in Buchform unter dem Titel “Cywil w Berlinie” (Ein Zivilist in Berlin). Der Titel ist treffend, denn Sobański beschreibt Berlin als “eine Stadt der Uniformierten”, in der selbst die Arbeitslosen eine Uniform trügen. Weniger gut getroffen ist der Titel der deutschen Ausgabe: “Nachrichten aus Berlin 1933-36”, dennoch ist sie ein Glücksfall für den deutschsprachigen Leser. Die deutsche Ausgabe erschien 2007.  

Antoni Graf Sobański hielt den Krieg nicht für wahrscheinlich. Zu sehr glaubte er an das Humane im Menschen. Als der Zweite Weltkrieg dann doch mit dem Überfall auf Polen am 1. September 1939 ausbricht, flieht Sobański über Südeuropa nach London. Das Kriegsende wird er jedoch nicht erleben. 1941 stirbt er in London an einer Lungenkrankheit.

Adam Gusowski

Mediathek zum Thema

Bilder
Audio

Teilen

Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Ku´damm, Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche im Jahre 1936. Die Kirche wurde im II. Weltkrieg teilweise zerstört. Nicht wieder aufgebaut ist sie heute ein Mahnmal im Gedenken an die Schreckenszeit des Krieges.
Berlin-Wilmersdorf
Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Ku´damm, Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche im Jahre 1936.
Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Ku´damm, Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche im Jahre 2014. Die Kirche wurde im II. Weltkrieg teilweise zerstört. Nicht wieder aufgebaut ist sie heute ein Mahnmal im Gedenken an die Schreckenszeit des Krieges.
Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche im Jahre 2014
Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Ku´damm, Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche im Jahre 2014
Inszenierte Bücherverbrennung der Nationalsozialisten am 10. Mai 1933 auf dem Opernplatz (heute: Bebelplatz) in Berlin. Antoni Graf Sobański ist auch Zeuge dieses Ereignisses. Seine Beschreibungen demaskieren die Propaganda-Maschinerie der Nationalsozialisten.
Inszenierte Bücherverbrennung
Inszenierte Bücherverbrennung der Nationalsozialisten am 10. Mai 1933 auf dem Opernplatz (heute: Bebelplatz) in Berlin.
Antoni Graf Sobański - Hörspiel von Polski Magazyn Radiowy des Funkhauses Europa
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Polski Magazin Radiowy des Funkhauses Europa präsentieren wir Hörspiele zu ausgewählten Themen unseres Portals.