Katarzyna Myćka

Katarzyna Myćka
Katarzyna Myćka

Info

Katarzyna Myćka’s solo performances on the marimba have been celebrated all around the world. Between the 17th and 26th July 2015 she led the 7th International Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Academy, this time at the College of Music, Theatre and Media in Hanover. In May this year she gave a recital with the National Symphony Orchestra of Columbia in Bogotá. Other concerts in 2015 include appearances in the Liederhalle and the New Palace in Stuttgart, and in the Filharmonia Opolska in Oppeln/Opole. In 2016 she will be playing in Malaga, before moving on to make appearances in the Dresden Frauenkirche, Wiesbaden and Donaueschingen. In 2017 she is already booked to perform in Aarhus, Denmark. In 1999 Katarzyna Myćka was honoured with the award of the Polish Percussive Arts Society as “ambassadress of Polish percussion art”. She lives in Stuttgart.

Location in the atlas of remembrance places

The marimba, as played by Katarzyna Myćka, has only existed as a solo and concert instrument since the mid-1980s. At the same time the marimbaphone is one of the oldest instruments known to mankind. Predecessors of the instrument were already known in Vietnam and Indonesia 5000 years ago. The instrument is then supposed to have arrived in Africa, where its presence was documented in writings in the Kingdom of Mali in the 14th century. What makes it different from the xylophone is its gourd-shaped (or tube-like) resonators mounted beneath wooden sound bars. The marimba came to South America with the slave trade and here it is still traditionally played in a huge number of countries. Its modern form as a chromatic two-row instrument with sound bars arranged as on a piano, was developed around 1880 in Guatemala and Mexico. The first concerts with the instrument were given in the 1930s. In 1947 Darius Milhaud wrote a concerto for Marimbaphone, Vibraphone and Orchestra. At the start of the 80s Ron Samuels began developing the Marimba One with five octaves in Arcata, California. The instrument has continued to be made by hand and is played all over the world by marimba soloists like Katarzyna Myćka.

Katarzyna Myćka was born in 1972 in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg) and grew up in Danzig/Gdańsk. At the age of sixteen, whilst she was at the music school in Danzig she changed from the piano to the drums. Two years later she began her studies at the Danzig College of Music, where she first came into contact with the marimba. In 1992, despite being the youngest participant in the Concours des Genève (CIEM), she was awarded a grant to study abroad, following which she continued her studies in 1993 in Stuttgart and at the Mozarteum in Salzburg under the drummer Peter Sadlo. Around this time she discovered the Marimba One, and was fascinated not only by the sound of the instrument but also by its lovingly handmade construction and design. She recognised the virtuoso quality of the instrument and chose it as her “ideal medium for musical expression”. In 1995 she won the first prize and audience prize for marimba solo at the International Percussion Competition in Luxemburg; and in the following year she was declared the victor at the First World Marimba Competition in Stuttgart. Myćka then ended her studies in Danzig, and her soloist class in Stuttgart. There followed further grants and invitations to master classes in the USA, Asia and several different European countries. These helped the young musician to build up a network of contacts very quickly. Today specialists and critics alike bear witness to the extraordinary richness of her tone quality, her “fascinatingly broad palette of musical effects” and, given the way she handles the dancing swirling mallets, her “supreme fluidity”, “perfect mallet technique” and a “dreamlike rhythmic precision”.

Because the modern marimba only goes back around thirty years compositions are limited. Adaptations of classical compositions like Mussorgsky’s “Pictures from an Exhibition”, pieces by Bach, Vivaldi and Ravel are all popular with music promoters and audiences alike. Bach’s cello suites are particularly appreciated by Myćka. She is increasingly working with young composers, with the result that around ten quality contemporary concertos for marimba have now been created within the space of a few years. Because of the sound created by the mallets the instrument is part of the drum family. That said, Myćka considers that the instrument is nearer the piano because of its melodic qualities. But since its upper tones do not sound good in every pitch in all intervals, the marimba presents great challenges to both adapters and composers.

Myćka’s solo repertoire includes Bach’s Cello Suites 2 and 3, the Toccata and Fuge in D minor, Chopin’s “Revolutions Étude“ and Prokofiev’s “Romeo and Juliet”, alongside contemporary compositions by the Japanese marimba virtuoso and composer, Abe Keiko, and pieces by Jacob Druckman, David Friedman, Arkadiusz Kątny, Igmar Alderete Acosta and Emmanuel Séjourné. Furthermore her orchestral repertoire includes cembalo and violin concertos by Bach, pieces for marimba duets, including tangos by Astor Piazzolla, as well as works for the marimba with drum ensembles, the organ and choirs written by contemporary composers. One of her particularly memorable performances was the Concerto for Marimba, Trumpet and String Orchestra in two movements by Anna Ignatowicz-Glińska (born 1968 in Warsaw), with the Prague Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Matthias Kuhn, which had its German premiere in the Stuttgart Liederhalle.

Solo appearances at leading marimba festivals in Osaka (1998), Linz (2004) and Minneapolis (2010) have given Myćka an international reputation as a pioneer of her instrument. In 1997 she gave her debut in the USA in Anaheim near Los Angeles at the International Drum Festival of the Percussive Arts Society (PASIC). Since 2005 she has been the head of its German chapter. She has been a guest soloist, amongst others, with the Stuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra, the Bochum Philharmonic Orchestra, the Symphony Orchestra of Bogotá, the Orchestra of the Kassel State Theatre, the Schleswig-Holstein Symphony Orchestra in Flensburg, the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra Heilbronn, the Beijing Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna Chamber Orchestra, the New Brandenburg Philharmonic Orchestra, the Slovakian Philharmonic Orchestra in Bratislava and the Polish Philharmonic Orchestra in Danzig, Łódź, Stettin/Szczecin, Oppeln and Wałbrzych.

Katarzyna Myćka places particular value on training young artists. In 2003 she set up the International Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Academy (IKMMA), since when it has been repeated every two years over a period of eight days during the summer holidays featuring other international teachers. During this time all the participants receive solo lessons for forty minutes every day. Daily concerts also give the students the opportunity for ensemble playing and solo performances. Between 2003 and 2007 the Academy took place at the Karol Lipinski University for Music in Breslau/Wrocław (Akademia Muzyczna im. Karola Lipińskiego we Wrocławiu); in 2009 at the College of Music and Performing Arts in Frankfurt am Main; in 2011 at the College of Music in Nuremberg; and in 2013 at the Conservatorium of the City of Luxemburg. On the occasion of the Academy meeting in Hannover in 2015 the teachers gave an opening concert in the Richard-Jacoby-Saal of the Music College. There was also a concert with works by the Greek composer Christos Hatzis, and a closing concert given by the participants featuring chamber music by Mussorgsky, Jarrod Cagwin and Eric Sammut. From 2006 to 2009 Myćka taught at the Ignacy Jan Paderewski Music Academy in Posen/Poznań (Akademia Muzyczna im. Ignacego Jana Paderewskiego w Poznaniu), the first music college in Poland to offer a Masters course in Marimba Studies. In Germany Myćka is fighting to separate marimba studies from drum departments in order to establish independent courses in the instrument for students in music colleges.

Between 1997 and 2008 she recorded six CDs. The majority of these contain compositions by contemporary composers and were recorded by the Südwestrundfunk broadcasting company in Stuttgart. She has also recorded concerts with the Radio Symphony Orchestra Saarbrücken (2001) and a cembalo/marimba concerto by Johann Sebastian Bach with the Bucharest National Radio Orchestra (2005). For November 2015 she is planning a new CD recording, this time with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, the virtuoso trumpeter Gábor Boldoczki and the conductor Matthias Kuhn, featuring concertos by Ignatowicz, Séjourné, Sammut and Ney Rosauro.

Axel Feuß

 

Sources:

2006: Interview with Evgeniya Kavaldzhieva on marimba-portal.de

2009: Interview with Tobias W. Pfleger on klassik.com

The artist’s website: marimbasolo.com

Instrument Marimba One: marimbaone.com

www.stuttgarter-philharmoniker.de

Anna Ignatowicz-Glińska: Concerto for Marimba, Trumpet and String Orchestra. Katarzyna Myćka with the Prague Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra, conductor Matthias Kuhn, in the Liederhalle Stuttgart, 2011 (youtube.com)

Information given by the artist

Media Library on topic

Images

Share

Katarzyna Myćka
Katarzyna Myćka
Katarzyna Myćka during a concert on 20th May 2015 in Bogotá.
During a concert
Katarzyna Myćka during a concert on 20th May 2015 in Bogotá with the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Colombia in the Auditorio Fabio Lozano of the University of Bogotá (UTADEO).
The poster for the 7th International Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Academy in Hanover 2015.
Poster in English
Plakat der 7. Internationalen Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Akademie in Hannover 2015.
The poster for the 7th International Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Academy in Hanover 2015.
Poster in German
The poster for the 7th International Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Academy in Hanover 2015.
Konzert in Oppeln/Opole
Plakat für Oppeln/Opole
Plakat für das Konzert mit Pius Cheung in Oppeln/Opole am 23.10.2015 .

Katarzyna Myćka

Katarzyna Myćka
Katarzyna Myćka

Info

Vom 17. bis 26. Juli 2015 leitete die weltweit gefeierte Marimba-Solistin bereits die 7.Internationale Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Akademie, diesmal an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien in Hannover. Im Mai dieses Jahres konzertierte sie mit dem Nationalen Sinfonieorchester von Kolumbien in Bogota. Weitere Konzerttermine führen sie 2015 unter anderem nach Stuttgart in die Liederhalle und in das Neue Schloss, nach Oppeln/Opole in die Filharmonia Opolska, 2016 nach Malaga, anschließend in die Dresdner Frauenkirche, nach Wiesbaden und Donaueschingen, 2017 ins dänische Aarhus. Katarzyna Myćka, 1999 von der Polish Percussive Arts Society als „Botschafterin der Polnischen Schlagzeugkunst“ ausgezeichnet, lebt in Stuttgart.

Lage im Atlas der Erinnerungsorte

Die Marimba existiert als Solo- und Konzertinstrument, wie sie von Katarzyna Myćka gespielt wird, erst seit Mitte der 1980er-Jahre. Zugleich ist das Marimbaphon eines der ältesten Instrumente der Menschheit. Vorläufer waren schon vor fünftausend Jahren in Vietnam und Indonesien bekannt. Vermutlich von dort gelangte das Instrument nach Afrika, wo es im 14. Jahrhundert im Königreich Mali schriftlich dokumentiert ist. Von den Xylophonen unterscheidet es sich durch gefäß- oder röhrenförmige Resonatoren, die unter den hölzernen Klangstäben montiert sind. Mit dem Sklavenhandel kam die Marimba nach Südamerika, wo sie bis heute in zahlreichen Ländern traditionell gespielt wird. Die moderne Form wurde um 1880 in Guatemala und Mexiko als chromatisches zweireihiges Instrument entwickelt, bei dem die Klangplatten wie auf dem Klavier angeordnet sind. In den 1930er-Jahren wurden die ersten Konzerte veranstaltet. 1947 schrieb Darius Milhaud ein Konzert für Marimbaphon, Vibraphon und Orchester. Seit Beginn der Achtzigerjahre entwickelte Ron Samuels in Arcata in Kalifornien das Marimba One mit fünf Oktaven, das weiterhin dort handgefertigt wird und auf dem Marimba-Solisten wie Katarzyna Myćka weltweit spielen.

1972 in Leningrad, dem heutigen St. Petersburg, geboren, wuchs die Musikerin in Danzig/Gdańsk auf. Auf der dortigen Musikschule wechselte sie mit sechzehn Jahren vom Klavier zum Schlagzeug. Zwei Jahre später begann sie ihr Studium an der Danziger Musikhochschule, an der sie zum ersten Mal mit der Marimba in Berührung kam. 1992 gewann sie als jüngste Teilnehmerin beim Concours des Genève (CIEM) ein Auslandsstipendium, woraufhin sie ab 1993 in Stuttgart und anschließend am Mozarteum in Salzburg bei dem Schlagzeuger Peter Sadlo studierte. Zu dieser Zeit entdeckte sie die Marimba One, wobei sie nicht nur der Klang des Instruments, sondern auch dessen handwerkliche Fertigung mit der Liebe zum Holz und zum Design faszinierten. Sie erkannte die virtuose Qualität des Instruments und wählte es als ihr „ideales Medium für die musikalische Aussage“. 1995 erreichte sie den Sieg und den Publikumspreis für Marimba Solo bei der International Percussion Competition in Luxemburg, im Jahr darauf den ersten Preis bei der First World Marimba Competition in Stuttgart. Ihr Studium beendete Myćka in Danzig, die Solistenklasse in Stuttgart. Es folgten Stipendien und Einladungen zu Meisterkursen in den USA, Asien und verschiedenen europäischen Ländern, die die junge Musikerin bald in der Szene vernetzten. Heute attestieren ihr Fachwelt und Kritik einen außergewöhnlichen Reichtum an Klangfarben, eine „faszinierend breite Palette musikalischer Wirkungen“ und angesichts der tanzenden und wirbelnden Schlägel, mit denen sie die Marimba spielt, „höchste Geläufigkeit“, „perfekte Anschlagtechnik“ und „traumhaft rhythmische Präzision“.

Aufgrund der nur dreißigjährigen Tradition der modernen Marimba ist die spielbare Musikliteratur begrenzt. Bearbeitungen klassischer Kompositionen wie Mussorgskys „Bilder einer Ausstellung“, Stücke von Bach, Vivaldi oder Ravel sind bei Konzertveranstaltern und beim Publikum beliebt. Myćka schätzt unter anderem die Cello-Suiten von Bach. Sie arbeitet aber auch verstärkt mit jungen Komponisten zusammen, sodass seit einigen Jahren rund zehn zeitgenössische Konzerte für Marimba zur gut spielbaren Literatur gehören. Das Instrument ist wegen seiner Klangerzeugung durch Schlägel Teil der Schlagzeugfamilie, steht aber für Myćka wegen seiner melodischen Qualität eher dem Klavier nahe. Da jedoch aufgrund der Obertöne nicht in jeder Tonlage alle Intervalle gut klingen, stellt das Instrument an Bearbeiter und Komponisten hohe Ansprüche.

Konkret gehören neben Bachs Cello-Suiten Nr. 2 und 3 unter anderem die Toccata und Fuge d-Moll, Chopins „Revolutionsetüde“ und Prokofjews „Romeo und Julia“ zu ihrem Solorepertoire ebenso wie zeitgenössische Kompositionen der japanischen Marimba-Virtuosin und Komponistin Abe Keiko, Stücke von Jacob Druckman, David Friedman, Arkadiusz Kątny, Igmar Alderete Acosta und Emmanuel Séjourné. Hinzu kommen als Orchesterwerke Cembalo- und Violinkonzerte von Bach, Stücke für Marimba Duo, darunter Tangos von Astor Piazzolla, sowie Werke für Marimba mit Schlagzeug-Ensemble, Orgel oder Chor von zeitgenössischen Komponisten. Ein besonderes Erlebnis ist das Konzert für Marimba, Trompete und Streichorchester in zwei Sätzen der 1968 in Warschau geborenen Komponistin Anna Ignatowicz-Glińska, das 2011 von Katarzyna Myćka und der Prager Kammerphilharmonie unter der Leitung von Matthias Kuhn in der Stuttgarter Liederhalle erstmals in Deutschland aufgeführt wurde.

Soloauftritte bei den führenden Marimba-Festivals 1998 in Osaka, 2004 in Linz und 2010 in Minneapolis machten Myćka international zu einer Pionierin ihres Instruments. Ihr Amerikadebüt gab sie 1997 in Anaheim bei Los Angeles beim Internationalen Schlagzeugfestival der Percussive Arts Society (PASIC), deren German Chapter sie seit 2005 vorsteht. Solistisch gastierte sie u.a. bei den Stuttgarter Philharmonikern, den Bochumer Symphonikern, dem Sinfonieorchester in Bogota, dem Orchester des Staatstheaters Kassel, dem Schleswig-Holsteinischen Sinfonieorchester in Flensburg, dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester Heilbronn, dem Beijing Symphony Orchestra, dem Wiener Kammerorchester, der Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, der Slowakischen Philharmonie in Bratislava und den Philharmonischen Orchestern Polens in Danzig, Łódź, Stettin/Szczecin, Oppeln und Wałbrzych.

Besonderen Wert legt sie auf die Ausbildung des Nachwuchses. 2003 gründete sie die Internationale Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Akademie (IKMMA), die seitdem alle zwei Jahre unter Beteiligung weiterer internationaler Dozenten an acht Tagen während der studentischen Sommerferien stattfindet und bei der jeder Teilnehmer täglich vierzig Minuten Einzelunterricht erhält. Tägliche Konzerte geben die Möglichkeit zu Ensemblespiel und Soloauftritten. Von 2003 bis 2007 fand die Akademie an der Karol-Lipinski-Universität für Musik in Breslau/Wrocław (Akademia Muzyczna im. Karola Lipińskiego we Wrocławiu) statt, 2009 an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt am Main, 2011 an der Hochschule für Musik in Nürnberg und 2013 am Konservatorium der Stadt Luxemburg. Anlässlich der Akademie in Hannover 2015 gab es ein Eröffnungskonzert der Dozenten im Richard-Jacoby-Saal der Musikhochschule, ein Konzert mit Werken des griechischen Komponisten Christos Hatzis sowie ein Abschlusskonzert der Teilnehmer mit kammermusikalischen Werken von Mussorgsky, Jarrod Cagwin und Eric Sammut. Von 2006 bis 2009 unterrichtete Myćka an der Ignacy-Jan-Paderewski-Musikakademie in Posen/Poznań (Akademia Muzyczna im. Ignacego Jana Paderewskiego w Poznaniu), der ersten Hochschule in Polen, an der man ein Meisterstudium im Fach Marimba abschließen konnte. Für das Studium an deutschen Hochschulen wünscht sich die Musikerin eine Herauslösung aus dem Schlagzeug-Bereich und die Etablierung eines eigenen Studiengangs.

Zwischen 1997 und 2008 hat sie sechs CDs eingespielt. Die Mehrzahl enthält zeitgenössische Kompositionen, aufgenommen beim Südwestrundfunk in Stuttgart. Es sind aber auch Konzerteinspielungen mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Saarbrücken (2001) und Cembalo/Marimba-Konzerte von Johann Sebastian Bach mit dem Nationalen Radioorchester Bukarest (2005) darunter. Für den November 2015 plant die Musikerin eine weitere CD-Einspielung, diesmal mit dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, dem Trompeten-Virtuosen Gábor Boldoczki und dem Dirigenten Matthias Kuhn. Sie freut sich darauf, Konzerte von Ignatowicz, Séjourné, Sammut und Ney Rosauro aufzunehmen.

Axel Feuß

 

Quellen:

Interview, geführt 2006 von Evgeniya Kavaldzhieva auf marimba-portal.de

Interview, geführt 2009 von Tobias W. Pfleger auf klassik.com

Webseite der Künstlerin: marimbasolo.com

Instrument Marimba One: marimbaone.com

stuttgarter-philharmoniker.de

Anna Ignatowicz-Glińska: Konzert für Marimba, Trompete und Streichorchester, Katarzyna Myćka und die Prager Kammerphilharmonie, Leitung: Matthias Kuhn, Liederhalle Stuttgart, 2011 (youtube.com)

Auskünfte der Künstlerin

Mediathek zum Thema

Bilder

Teilen

Katarzyna Myćka
Katarzyna Myćka
Katarzyna Myćka während des Konzerts am 20. Mai 2015 in Bogota.
Während des Konzerts
Katarzyna Myćka während des Konzerts am 20. Mai 2015 in Bogota mit dem Orchesta Sinfónica Nacional de Colombia im Auditorio Fabio Lozano der Universität von Bogota (UTADEO).
Plakat der 7. Internationalen Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Akademie in Hannover 2015
Plakat der Myćka Akademie
Plakat der 7. Internationalen Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Akademie in Hannover 2015.
Plakat der 7. Internationalen Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Akademie in Hannover 2015.
Plakat der Myćka-Akademie
Plakat der 7. Internationalen Katarzyna Myćka Marimba Akademie in Hannover 2015.
Konzert in Oppeln/Opole
Plakat für Oppeln/Opole
Plakat für das Konzert mit Pius Cheung in Oppeln/Opole am 23.10.2015 .